Chakras for Beginners – What are “Chakras?”

What are Chakras?

Have you ever heard of chakra’s? Or if you’re a beginner to yoga and hear the teacher say something like, “now lets clear the crown chakra.”
No worries, Rachel here to help!


Chakra: each of the centers of spiritual power in the human body, usually considered to be seven in number [according to google]
*They are aligned vertically, running from the base of your spine to the crown of your head.

*When we meditate, yoga, or other spiritual awakenings; we are able to balance our chakras!

The 7 Chakras

Click the picture to join the private lovingthyself facebook group! <3
1. Root (“Tribal Power“)
  • Color: Red
  • Location: Base of the spine.
  • Representation: Grounds us. Represents group identity, force, willpower, and beliefs.
  • Symbolic Meaning:
    Logic, order, structure, and understanding of our 5 senses.
  • Energy Connection to our Physical Body:
    Spine, rectum, legs, bones, feet, & immune system.
  • Causes of Blockages:
    Fears of abandonment & physical survival. If you feel anxious, stressed, or scattered.
  • Ways to Strengthen:
    Believing that All is One. Our “tribe” aka our family/friends/groups are valued with honor, trust, loyalty. This gives us a sense of safety.
2. Sacral (“The Power of Relationships“)
  • Color: Orange
  • Location:  Naval & lower abdomen area.
  • Representation:
    Powerful force and choice through relationships with others.
  • Symbolic Meaning:
    A survival instinct for being in the world; self-sufficiency.
  • Energy Connection to our Physical Body:
    Sexual organs, large intestine, lower vertebrae, pelvis, hip area, appendix, bladder.
  • Causes of Blockages:
    Fears of spiritual abandonment, loss of identity, and connection with others
  • Ways to Strengthen:
    Ability to survive physically and financially. Enabling yourself to take risks. Ability to recover from a loss of power or loved one.
3. Solar Plexus (“Personal Power“)
  • Color: Yellow
  • Location: Solar plexus, core
  • Representation: Personal power & self-esteem.
  • Symbolic Meaning:
    How we related & understand ourselves.
  • Energy Connection to our Physical Body:
    Gallbladder, stomach, small intestine, pancreas, adrenals, liver, & center of the spine.
  • Causes of Blockages:
    Fears of  criticism, rejection, looking silly, failure, & any negative fears of physical appearance. (ex: fat, aging, or balding)
  • Ways to Strengthen:
    Ability to love yourself  for how our Higher Power created us to be. Acceptance of physical appearance, character, and ambition. Ability to handle a crisis.
4. Heart (“Emotional Power“)
  • Color: Green
  • Location: Center of chest
  • Representation: Love. The most powerful energy we have.
  • Symbolic Meaning:
    Let go & Let God. Forgiveness.
  • Energy Connection to our Physical Body:
    Heart, circulatory system, thymus glad, lungs, arms, hands, diaphragm, ribs, breasts, and shoulders.
  • Causes of Blockages:
    Fears of: commitment, following one’s heart, loneliness, ability to protect oneself. Also, when we are jealous, hold anger, hate, or betray.
  • Ways to Strengthen:
    Love, inspiration, hope, trust, gratitude, compassion. Ability to care for others and oneself.
5. Throat (“The Power of Will“)
  • Color: Blue
  • Location: in between the heart and chest.
  • Representation:
    Complete union with Our Higher Power’s will.
  • Symbolic Meaning:
    You have authority over yourself.
  • Energy Connection to our Physical Body:
    Throat, thyroid, esophagus, trachea, parathyroid, hypothalamus, neck vertebrae, mouth, jaw, and teeth.
  • Causes of Blockages:
    Fear of having no authority over our lives. Fear of the will of God.
  • Ways to Strengthen:
    Personal authority, faith in our Higher Power, and capability to make decisions. Keeping our word.
6. Third-Eye (“The Power of the Mind“)
  • Color: Indigo
  • Location: Center of Forehead.
  • Representation: Chakra of wisdom & intuition.
  • Symbolic Meaning:
    Lessons that lead to wisdom from our Higher Power
  • Energy Connection to our Physical Body:
    The brain, neurological system, pituitary & pineal glands, nose, ears, and eyes.
  • Causes of Blockages:
    Fears of sound, discipline, realistic judgement, truth. Unwillingness to look within.
  • Ways to Strengthen:
    Taking time to evaluate our conscious and unconscious insights. Receiving creative inspiration. Intuitive reasoning. Emotionally intelligent. Having intellectual skills & abilities. 

**I discuss this into a little more depth in my blog: Intuition vs. Consciousness **

7. Crown (“Our Spiritual Connector“)
  • Color: Violet
  • Location: Top of the head
  • Representation: Chakra of prayer. Represents our connection to our Higher Power.
  • Symbolic Meaning:
    Purest form of energy pouring into us called prana.
  • Energy Connection to our Physical Body:
    Central nervous system, muscular system, & skin.
  • Causes of Blockages:
    Fears of spiritual abandonment, loss of identity, and connection with others
  • Ways to Strengthen:
    Living in the now, faith in our Higher Power, trusting our intuition, elimination of fear and leaving it to our Higher Power.
 My challenge for you:

Take into consideration each of these chakras. Where do you feel unbalanced?
If it’s all of them, start with working on one.
Change those blockages into strengths!
Some changes may take days, months, and even years.
If i can do it, trust me I BELIEVE you can too.
Don’t wait, start TODAY!

Comment below with any questions and which chakra YOU want to work on!

Take Care. Be The Light.

Free Crystals For Beginners Webinar
Just fill out the information below <3
The following two tabs change content below.
Rach here! Yogi, Beach, & Animal Lover. I aspire to help others (like you) heal naturally through two major aspects: loving themselves and faith. From the inside-out. Mind, body, soul, and spiritual health! 🙂
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial